Our Governance

Our Governance

St Stephen’s is part of the Anglican Church of Australia.

The Parish is governed by the Constitution of the Anglican Church of Australia, and the Parishes Act 2013 of the Anglican Diocese of Melbourne.

St Stephen’s is currently without a Senior Minister and our Incumbency committee are working with the Bishop to make an appointment.

The Reverend Canon Hugh Prentice serves part time as Honorary Associate Minister.

The Church Wardens are members of the congregation who take particular responsibility for the stewardship and good management of our property, finances, and material possessions.

Our Parish Council consists of the Senior Minister, the Church Wardens, and a number of congregational members elected at the Annual Meeting or appointed by the Senior Minister. The Parish Council, is chaired by the Senior Minister. Minutes of our Parish Council meetings are available on request, and recent minutes are posted on the notice board of the Church Ministry Centre.

The 2022 Parish Council consists of the Senior Minister (Locum), the Church Wardens (Gus McLean, Seng Hee Tan and Jenni Dyson), the Parish Secretary (Jo Reid), the Parish Treasurer (Dominique Gifford) and a Parish Councillors (Lorna Johnson).

Contact details for Parish Council members can be found in the church directory or obtained by contacting the church office.